MGA Recognizes Students for Academic Achievements

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2019 12:00 AM
Categories: School of Information Technology | School of Business | Pressroom | College of Arts and Sciences | Honors/Awards | School of Health Sciences | Students | School of Aviation | School of Education and Behavioral Sciences

Macon, GA

MGA President Dr. Christopher Blake and Taylor Cravey, the 2019 President's Scholar.

Taylor Cravey of Dudley, Ga., a Middle Georgia State University senior graduating with a bachelor's degree in elementary special education, has been chosen the President's Scholar for the Class of 2019. Cravey was one of more than 50 MGA students recognized at the 2019 Honors Convocation for their academic achievements.

Each year, a graduating senior is chosen by the Honors, Awards and Graduation Committee, with the approval of the University president, to be the President's Scholar. The chosen student must have an outstanding academic record, involvement in campus and/or community service activities, and demonstrate characteristics indicating the promise of a successful future.

Cravey got a head start on her teaching career through the new “Interns as Teachers” program, serving as the teacher of record for a third-grade class at Veterans Elementary School in Macon under the guidance of a more experienced teacher and her education professors at MGA. The 22-year-old Cravey graduated from West Laurens High School, where she was a member of the Beta Club, ran cross country, played softball, and worked two part-time jobs.

She chose Middle Georgia State University for its elementary education program and for the opportunity it would give her to save money by living with her family while going to school. Cravey said she is graduating with zero student-loan debt.

While attending MGA, Cravey volunteered with the Sailor Kate Ministry, Children’s Medical Services and CSB Clubhouse of Middle Georgia. She was a member of the President’s Torch Society in 2017 and is currently a member of Kappa Delta Pi. In the summer of 2017, she studied abroad in Ireland, something she cites as one of the academic highlights of her time at Middle Georgia State.

While at MGA she also participated in experiential learning opportunities, conducted action research and presented at the Future Georgia Educators Conference and the Georgia Council for Teachers of Mathematics Conference.

After graduation, Cravey is moving to Brunswick and St. Simons Island to continue her teaching career at Waynesville Primary School.

Michael Koohang of Kathleen, Ga., a senior finishing up his bachelor's degree in information technology, was named MGA's 2019 Academic Recognition Day Scholar. The Academic Recognition Day Scholar – a University System of Georgia award - is chosen each year from an elite group of students who demonstrate high academic achievement and a strong commitment to service to their college and community.

Koohang started his undergraduate education as a full-time dual-enrollment student at Middle Georgia State, and he will graduate with a bachelor’s degree at the age of 18. In the School of Information Technology, he has worked as an assistant in the robotics and intelligent systems lab, where he participated in two major research projects. He was chosen to intern at Georgia Tech through the 2018 Civic Data Science program representing Middle Georgia State. He participated in a project called RatWatch, which aimed to document and model the rat infestation issue within the city of Atlanta through SMS data collection, an excellent service to the community. In addition to his academics and research, he has participated in various hackathons, including HackGT, and has volunteered for STEM outreach organizations.

Other MGA students who received academic awards at the 2019 Honors Convocation are:

Taylor Ayers, Outstanding Academic Excellence in English.

Curtis Martin, Distinguished Mathematics Graduate.

Katherine Davis, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Core Curriculum Associate of Arts.

Joel Smith, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Core Curriculum Associate of Science.

Bryce Bussert, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Modern Language.

Jenardis Mountain, Academic Excellence in Art.

Rebecca Jones, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Interdisciplinary Studies.

Shawnise Addison, Academic Excellence in New Media and Communications.

Chantilly Hinton, Academic Excellence in Contemporary Musicianship.

Alexis Brown and Taylor Smith, Outstanding Percussionists, Contemporary Musicianship.

Jenna Pollard, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Biology.

John Ethan McClung, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Aviation Maintenance Technology.

Christopher Couture, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Air Traffic Management.

Emily Hazard, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Aviation Science and Management.

Karly Currie, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Business Administration.

Andrew Beck, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Accounting.

Leighton Dumas, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Management.

Katherine Osburn, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Marketing.

Konondra Rumph, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Production Operations.

Taylor Cravey, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Elementary Special Education, Macon-Cohort.

Halie Seitz, Academic Excellence in Early Childhood Special Education with Reading Endorsement.

Jordan Kushinka, Academic Excellence in Secondary Education.

Kristin Hanlin, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Teaching, Master of Arts.

Scarlett Moore, Carol Bloodworth Award.

Debra Bartholomew, Academic Excellence in Public Service.

Ryan Graham, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Criminal Justice.

Ashley Barksdale, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Psychology.

Carla Carpenter, Academic Excellence in Nursing, A.S.N.

Christopher Sellars, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, B.S.N.

Jasmine Ward, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, RN - B.S.N.

Lidyia Maksymyuk, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, M.S.N.

Victoria Shaver, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, M.S.N.

Ngan Le, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Respiratory Therapy, A.S.

LaTasha Burwell, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Respiratory Therapy, B.S.

Shannon Lester, Academic Excellence in Health Services Administration.

Lisa Michelle Collins, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Occupational Therapy Assistant.

Matthew Ball, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Integrated Digital Media and Game Design.

Sean Kessinger, Academic Excellence in Cyber Forensics.

Phillip Jarquio, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Network Technologies and Administration.

Michael Koohang, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Software Engineering.

Jacob Corley, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity.

James Corley, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Web Applications and Development.

Jesse Wilhite, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics, M.S.

Jason Ellington, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Software Development, M.S.

Clarice Gordy, Outstanding Contributions in Community Engagement (Experiential Learning).

Jacob Corley, Outstanding Contribution in Community Engagement (Experiential Learning).

Tyler Price, Outstanding Scholarship and Applied Research (Experiential Learning).

Elexis Sharpe, Outstanding Intern (Experiential Learning).

Shawnise Addison, Outstanding Intern (Experiential Learning).

David Lopez, Angela Marshall, Taylor Lewis, Dalton Foskey, and Aquanas Meadows, Outstanding Scholarship and Applied Research Group Submission (Experiential Learning).

Bryce Bussert, Honors Program Graduate.

John Verboom, Honors Program Graduate.

Taylor Ayers, Honors Discipline Graduate.

Kailea Manning, Honors Discipline Graduate.

Jacqueline Heer, Honors Discipline Graduate.

Lara Persiani, Honors Discipline Graduate.

Halie Seitz, Honors Discipline Graduate.